You said it. Chicago. Being good, bearing yourself, anywhere.

Saturday, April 20th, 2013

I’m in Chicago, the best reference for which I have is "Da-a Be-ar-sh" SNL skit of old. That and, somehow, hotdogs. I came here in high school once, for the FBLA national championship, and came away with 8th place in machine transcription and a memory of painted, ceramic, life-sized cows.

What I meant to say first is that I’m sitting at Chicago O’Hare, pathetically sipping a large McDonald’s coffee. Oh wait. They call it McCafe.

God dammit! I closed my email so that people wouldn’t chat me and forgot I was typing this post in gmail.

Back to the pathetically sipping. I thanked something or other when I saw the "Open 24 Hours" sign in the …. ahem hem … McCafe window. I really need that right now.

I don’t need to cry. I don’t need to feel sorry for myself. I had points when I wanted to. Maybe I was tired. I feel ok. I feel good. Maybe I was fighting what I thought was supposed to be my reaction.

Writing feels good. Putting yourself OUT there feels good. That’s what I meant to say. And it doesn’t have to take all day. I can go back to my coffee now.

Suffering becomes beautiful when anyone bears great calamities with cheerfulness, not through insensibility but through greatness of mind.
Aristotle
(And it’s not that serious! (as my schoolkids used to say))

Each of us bears his own Hell.
Virgil

Human speech is like a cracked kettle on which we tap crude rhythms for bears to dance to, while we long to make music that will melt the stars.
Gustave Flaubert

Daaaaa Beaaarsh!

2 comments on “You said it. Chicago. Being good, bearing yourself, anywhere.

  1. dumbbellina says:

    Mark my words, for better or worse:

    Eri:
    i never stayed overnight in the airport before
    :
    someone would take him to their hotel room [referring to Ender above. what would ender do?]
    Eri:
    kinda curious
    :
    really
    it sucks
    I’ve done it a lot
    Eri:
    ya

    :
    it gets really cold
    Eri:
    hm
    that is a good point

    :
    and nowhere to lie down but the floor
    and the floors are concrete and they get really cold

    :
    and the janitor comes in at 4:30/5 and mercilessly vacuums
    and no one else spends the night in the airport but you, even though everyone else got delayed
    I prob did this 3 or 4 times, the best part is if you have wifi cuz then u get to use computar
    Eri:
    i’m using the computer

    :
    yay clap good job clap
    any friends in Chicago?
    Eri:
    dude. i’m quoting you
    live blogging

    :
    fuck
    Eri:
    caught

    :
    what the F
    F
    I should tell all my friends that If they ever get delayed in SF airport I will pick them up
    seems like a cool adventure
    if they buy me in n out they can sleep on the floor

  2. dumbbellina says:

    Moar quotes!!!!!

    Eri:
    Ok ya. Gonna sleep in the airport

    :
    What time is the flight?
    Eri:
    7am
    Maybe I’ll stay up all night. Have u ever stayed over in an airport?

    :
    No and that sounds like a bad idea but you need to protect your stuff too. Why no hotel?
    Eri:
    Ah. They’re not putting me up because they call it a weather incident (not their fault) and I am otherwise cheap
    I will create a circle of fire around my stuff đŸ™‚


    Eri:

    one more time with feeling
    i already searched
    whatevs
    i’m content
    it’s like i’m at home
    and insomniacal
    i pretend so good
    i have computer
    if i stare hard enough at it it’s like i’m at home đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

