Humidity to blame for bad week?

Wednesday, September 4th, 2013

I’ve been having a rough week, health-wise. It’s been hard to breathe, especially through my nose, reminding me of times living in NYC, when my breathing was so bad that my skin turned grey and I couldn’t venture outside on some days.

I’ve also been experiencing light headedness, pain (normal), cloudy vision, and chest discomfort (not sure I’d call it pain, but it didn’t not hurt). When I thought of the symptoms, it seemed scary or, at least, concerning.

It took me a moment to realize that the air has been humid. During periods of high humidity, I experience added bodily stress, where it feels like barometric pressure is literally the earth pressing in against my body. It is hard to breathe and I feel dizzy – most likely related. My digestion becomes blocked and, because my allergy symptoms are so closely tied to digestion, I have allergy attacks throughout the day and especially at night, when prone, and sleep poorly because of it. And, of course, when there’s a high pollen count, as there has been, the allergies are amplified.

It’s reassuring. Perhaps there is something I can do for my digestion to battle the humidity. I’ve heard that in certain warm, humid Asian climates, it is common to drink hot soup, peppered with stimulating spices such as ginger and turmeric, throughout the day. Perhaps I could take on the lifestyles of those people during certain climates. I will research those lifestyles more and give it a shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

